Our city’s shared plan to tackle climate change

Manchester Climate Change Board


The Manchester Climate Change Board is responsible for overseeing and championing the delivery of Manchester's Climate Change Strategy for 2017-50. The Board was established in February 2018 and builds on the work of the MACF Steering Group, which was in place from 2010 - 2017. 


The Board's Terms of Reference are available here.

The current membership is as follows:



- Gavin Elliott, Chair BDP Manchester Studio


Previous MACF Steering Group members

- Helen Seagrave, Electricity North West

- Dr Ali Abbas, Manchester Friends of the Earth, Greater Manchester Community Renewables, Carbon Literacy Trust

- Dave Coleman, Cooler Projects

- Holly Bonfield, independent coach, trainer and mediator, Federation of Small Businesses

- Simon Curtis, Head of Production at Royal Exchange and Chair of Manchester Arts Sustainability Team 

- Dr Jeremy Carter, Research Fellow at University of Manchester


Manchester City Council

- Councillor Angeliki Stogia, Executive Member for Environment and Skills

- Sara Todd, Deputy Chief Executive 


Co-opted members

- Chris Oglesby, Cheif Executive at Bruntwood

- Rogers Govender, Dean at Manchester Cathedral

- Pete Bradshaw, Director of Infrastructure and Estates at Manchester City Football Club

- Steve Connor, Chief Executive at Creative Concern

- Ian Thomson, Executive Director at Homes and Services at Johnnie Johnson Housing and representative from Manchester Housing Providers Partnership 

- Dr. Philip Burns, Manchester Health and Well-being Board


Member of the public

- Domonic Goggins, Political and Communications Strategy Consultant 


Manchester Climate Change Youth Board

- Ash Farrah

- Dan Walsh

- Tudor Baker

- Hannah Mitchell 

- Amelia Gilchrist

- Jonathan Keen 


The minutes from the Manchester Climate Change Board meetings are available here.